Books for Ravenclaws

books for ravenclaws

The focus of this post is from last week’s Top 5 Wednesday which is a weekly event created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. I missed out on posting this last week because I don’t post on Wednesdays (yes, I have an actual schedule now, new posts every Tuesday and Friday!) but I thought this theme was really cool and I want to get involved.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

I think this book is really suited to Ravenclaws because it’s quite sophisticated and gets your brain running but also it still has elements of creativity and imagination. It’s set in an American university about this group of very intelligent students. Because of some of the characters I think this would also appeal to a lot of Slytherins as well so any Slytherclaw hybrids out there, this is for you!

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater 

GET IT?! Not just because of the name, I think The Raven Boys is a great book for Ravenclaws because the book (well, the entire series really) is based around myth, history and magic which I think really appeals to Ravenclaws, it does to me anyway.

Matilda by Roald Dahl 

This was probably my favourite book growing up and remains to be one of my all time favourite books. Matilda is such a Ravenclaw, I think she embodies everything that a Ravenclaw values and cherishes not just because she loves reading but because she loves learning. To me, Matilda is like a Ravenclaw’s holy book.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

I was think about The Mortal Instruments for this list because it’s like myth and legend but it seemed more Gryffindor than Ravenclaw but then I remembered The Infernal Devices. Out of the two this one is my favourite anyway. I think this series is very Ravenclaw because it has the elements of legend and magic but the characters themselves, I think, are all Ravenclaws especially Will Herondale.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon 

I think there’s a lot of elements in this book that would appeal to a Ravenclaw. First of all, Claire is a very smart and resourceful character having to apply her knowledge of 20th Century medicine to the 18th Century. Secondly, the fact that it’s set in 18th Century Scotland and based around real historical events (Jacobite risings, not falling through time). Whilst it’s obviously a work of fiction so the accuracy of details varies, you still learn a lot about this point in history and I just think it’s really interesting.

Buy the books here!

Leave a Reply

