Summer TBR List: Classics Edition

summer classics tbr

The weather here has been consistently good enough to declare that summer is finally here. And this summer I plan to get a lot more reading done than I did last year and to top that I definitely want to read way more classics than I did last summer. I’ve compiled a list of five which may seem small but I’d like to set the bar low so I can either meet expectations or be happily surprised and exceed them. Plus with all the other non-classic books that I want to read this summer, I think I’m being realistic here.

#1: Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens is one of my favourite classic authors. I’ve read two of his books so far and I have loved them. I’ve read Great Expectations and A Tale of Two Cities and I just fell in love with his style of writing. I was surprised by how funny he actually is. Bleak House doesn’t sound like it’s gonna be all that funny and cheery and it’s a chunky book that will probably take me half of summer to get through but I really want to read more Charles Dickens novels.

#2: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

This is one of those books where I pretend to have already read it. I studied English at A-Level, I’m studying and English degree and I can’t believe I’ve gotten this far without reading it. I feel like I can’t blag my way through this any longer. It’s not that I don’t want to read, I just never got round it but this summer, I’m determined to read it.

#3: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

I don’t like Jane Austen. There, I said it. I know a lot of bookworms out there who love Jane Austen, I’m sorry but she’s just not my cup of tea. Her novels just aren’t gritty enough for me. Saying that, I’m giving her a second chance by reading Northanger Abbey. This was actually recommended to me by my A-Level English teacher (we both had similar opinions on Austen) so I figured I’d give it a shot.

#4: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

This book has been on my shelf for so long going unread that I honestly feel guilty whenever I look at it. I actively avoid looking at the sad corner of my bookshelf where my unread classics sit. I did attempt to read it a few years a go when I was a bit younger but just could not get in to it. Now that I’m slightly older and have more experience with classic books, I feel like I can take a stab at this one again.

#5: 1984 by George Orwell

I don’t know whether to consider this one a classic or not, I know some people don’t but it’s making the list. This is another one of those that I claim to have read but haven’t. A lot of these classics, I don’t really know much about them but this one is so popular that you can’t avoid not knowing about it. I think the story is really interesting and I’d love to finally get round to reading it.

Buy the books here!

10 thoughts on “Summer TBR List: Classics Edition

  1. fantasyst95 says:

    I read Frankenstein and 1984 whilst in school – I haven’t read any of the others. I disliked both of these books initially, but I think that was because I was younger and understood less, plus my teachers were very oppressive in teaching around these topics.

    Since leaving school I re-read 1984 and now I love it… I think it has a lot to say and is very relevant to now. I’m considering re-reading Frankenstein, but I’m not sure I can psych myself up for it. I think this was he school assignment I hated the most

    Like

    • elliesbookshelf says:

      I felt exactly the same about books I studied at school. When I was about 13, we studied Great Expectations and I hated it so much but it wasn’t until I read it again recently that I realised how much I actually liked it.

      Like

      • fantasyst95 says:

        I really think schools go about teaching classics the wrong way – I think it puts 90% of people off! I’m thankful I went back and re-read otherwise I never would have appreciated classics.

        I haven’t read Great Expectations but I’m going to gradually make my way through as many classics as I can. I’ve also added A Tale of Two Cities to my upcoming reads list (as I’ve never read Dickens before). I gather you enjoyed it?

        Like

      • elliesbookshelf says:

        Absolutely! Those are the only two books I’ve read of his but I love them, definitely some of my favourite classics, if not some of my all time favourites. I think I prefer A Tale of Two Cities but Great Expectations is still amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    I can’t recommend 1984 by Orwell enough, in fact just read everything by him because his writing is brilliant. The quick wit is so on point!

    A classic I really want to read is Anne of Green Gables, I feel like everyone but me has read it haha. I’d also love to read more Dickens, I have his whole collection in my wardrobe just waiting to read so I shall get on it!

    Lovely blog Ellie, and I look forward to stopping by your blog again soon.

    Emma @ Emma’s Bookery

    Like

    • elliesbookshelf says:

      Thanks, Emma! I seriously need to get round to reading some Orwell, so many people I know rave about him. I read Animal Farm when I was at school but didn’t really appreciate it because it just kind of seemed like a ‘school’ book.

      I saw that Anne with an E was added on Netflix but haven’t actually watched it yet because I wanted to read Anne of Green Gables first. And there’s so many pretty editions of it!

      Like

  3. The Reader says:

    I’ve just found your blog and am so thrilled to find that there’s another young woman out there who doesn’t like Jane Austen! Have you read Northanger Abbey by now? Out of all her novels, it was my favourite… but I’m still not a fan. Hope you can find some enjoyment in it!

    Lovely blog! x

    Like

    • elliesbookshelf says:

      Thank you so much!

      This is where I make my shameful confession that I haven’t read any of these classics yet. I’m hoping to read a few of them this month. A few people have said they really like Northanger Abbey so I’ll probs start with that one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

