June Wrap-Up

june wrap up

I did not have as good a reading month as I did in May. I didn’t even read half as many books, I’m actually embarrassed by how little I read. This month I only read two books and that’s stretching the truth because at this point I still haven’t finished the second one, it’s taken me almost all month. On the plus side however, my books buying ban ended on the 24th so I have a few extra books in this wrap up to make up for my lack of reading.

The first book I read this month was History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera. I wrote a review for this book earlier this month and actually got to meet Adam Silvera at his first UK book signing and if you want to read more about that you can do so here.

As June is Pride Month, I did really want to read a bunch more books from/about the LGBTQ+ community but because it took me so long to read my other book, I didn’t get to do that so that is my goal for next month. Off the top of my head, I don’t actually know that many LGBT books so please, if you have any recommendations, no matter how indie or unpopular, then let me know!

The next book I read (well, still reading, technically) is the second book in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon and that is A Dragonfly in Amber. It is a chunky book but I was obsessed with the first book and stormed my way through that so I thought this book would be just as enticing. It was not. I’m really struggling to get through this one, it doesn’t have quite the same pull as the first book had and it’s taking so long to read that at this point I’m just waiting for it to be over.

As I mentioned before, my book buying ban ended a few days a go and I celebrated with some book buying.

The first book I got this month was actually a pre-order and that is the 20th Anniversary Edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by none other than J.K. Rowling. Obviously I got the hardcover Ravenclaw edition because I am a Ravenclaw. It’s so pretty and actually has added illustrations and writing about the history of Ravenclaw house.

Next, this was actually my shameful moment of the month. I worked out with my friend at the start of my ban that I can have one ‘get out of jail free’ card where I can buy one book, but if I buy two then he gets to give away 10% of my books (realistically, I would never have let that happen but the threat was THERE). Anyway, I used my get out of jail free card to buy The Power by Naomi Alderman. This book recently won the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction this year. It’s about one day women suddenly have the power to inflict intense pain or even death on other pain just by a wave of their hands and I think it’s told from different perspectives about how the world changes once women realise they have this new dominance.

Next, I bought two Margaret Atwood books. The first is The Handmaid’s Tale, I think I’ve mentioned this before a couple of times. I’ve read this one before but I’ve never actually owned a copy of it, I’ve only ever borrowed it from a library or something, and I’ve been loving the TV adaptation and it’s made me want to reread it. I saw this edition in Waterstone’s, it is the new Vintage Classics edition and I just like this one so much more than the one that I usually see around. The other Margaret Atwood book I got is The Blind Assassin. I got this one mostly because I know it’s one of her more popular books but also sounds great. Some of the more interesting words on the blurb include ‘betrayal’, ‘dark drama’, ‘outrageous’ and ‘funny’ and they just really appeal to me on a spiritual level so I can’t wait to read this one.

Buy the books here!

3 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

