Mid-Year Favourites

mid year favs

It’s July and we are just over halfway through the year! So far this year I have read 22 books out of 40 books that I challenged myself to read this year and I have compiled a list of my favourites. This is going to be a mish-mash of books that have been released this year and books that may have been released a while a go but I have only read this year.

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer 

This is probably the only science fiction book that I have read this year but it has easily been one of the best books I have read so far. This book was incredible, it was intense, thrilling, suspenseful, just pure amazing. It’s about these four scientists who journey in to this place called Area X to study it because the land used to be inhabited by people until weird things started happening there and now the land is deserted and dangerous. It’s the perfect mix of science fiction, mystery and horror. 10/10 would recommend to a friend.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

I know this is on a lot of people’s mid year favourites and for good reason because this book is (editor’s note: it took me roughly three minutes to think of an adjective sufficient enough to describe my feelings for this book) stunning. I feel like this book slapped me then screamed in my face but, like, in a really good way. You’ve probably heard about it already but, if you haven’t then 1) welcome back from whatever rock yo were underneath, so great that you decided to rejoin society and 2) it’s inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement about a sixteen-year-old girl called Starr who is being driven home by her friend, they get pulled over by a police officer and her friend is shot in an unprovoked attack. Honestly, absolutely incredible book, definitely worth reading at least fifteen times.

Asking For It by Louise o’Neill 

Oh man, this book truly shattered my soul. This is about Emma who one night goes to a house party and is sexually assaulted, and the book then really begins to focus on how Emma is treated by her friends (well, ‘friends’ those snakes), her family, the media and people in her local community. The things that were done to Emma, I felt sick as I read them but what was worse was the way she was treated afterwards. This was one of those rare books where you couldn’t just put it down or finish it and go back to your life unchanged. After finishing this book, it was all I could really think about. Everyone should read it.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare 

This was one of my most anticipated releases of 2017 and it did not disappoint. I read this so quickly, I read this in only four days. I love Cassandra Clare’s books and the entire Shadowhunter world. Every time I come back to one of her books I’m just reminded by how much love I have for them. Anyway, this is the sequel to Lady Midnight, part of the relatively new Dark Artifices series. This book was absolutely fantastic, I have a review up if you would like to know a bit more about what I thought but, as a warning, there are a lot of spoilers.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Technically, I didn’t read this book, I had a free trial on Audible and this was one of the books that I downloaded. This was the first audiobook that I’ve ever listened to and I was so surprised by how much I enjoyed listening to a book over reading it. It’s definitely made me want to listen to more audiobooks in the future. Specifically this book was so great (I have a review for this one too!), I loved the writing style, it was so beautiful and poetic and the dialogue between characters was so funny, I looked like a crazy person sitting on a quiet train trying to stifle my laughter. I’d love to get a physical copy of this book to add to my growing collection, I loved it that much.

Those are my favourites that I’ve read so far this year. There aren’t as many as I thought there would be. I have read a lot of good books this year but when I compare them to the books I’ve just talked about, they’re not really on the same level. But there’s so great releases coming up in the second half of this year that I’m really excited for from some of my favourite authors like Leigh Bardugo, Maggie Stiefvater and another release from Sarah J Maas!

Buy the books here!

Leave a Reply

