Mid Year Anticipated Releases

mid year releases

I feel like I’m way behind on the “mid year” posts that come in around June but here we are anyway. At the start of the year I posted about my most anticipated releases of 2017 and since then I think all of those books have been released and I’ve read the majority. But now it is the second half of the year, there have been more announcements for autumn and winter that I’m so ready for.

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo 

I am so hyped for this book. I went to see Wonder Woman at the cinema the day it was released and, holy shit, it’s been the best film I’ve seen this year (I haven’t seen that many but that’s besides the point). It was incredible and I am OBSESSED. I can not wait for this book to come out and I’m so excited that Leigh Bardugo is writing this book because she is fantastic.

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

I LOVE Maggie Stiefvater’s writing. The Raven Cycle is one of my all time favourite series, I think Maggie’s writing style is so beautiful and poetic and, I don’t want to sound corny by saying whimsical but, yeah, whimsical. I don’t really know what this book is about but, like, it’s Maggie Stiefvater so you know it’s gonna be good anyway.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling and illustrated by Jim Kay

Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite Harry Potter book, I own so many copies of it and I can’t wait to add this one to my collection. I own the first two illustrated  Harry Potter books and they are beautiful. I am so excited to see my favourite Harry Potter book illustrated and see my favourite scenes through Jim Kay’s eyes because I think his illustrations are amazing.

Alex and Eliza by Melissa De La Cruz

I don’t know if you know this about but I’m a bit of a fan this small, super unknown musical called Hamilton, you probably haven’t heard of it. This book starts roughly around when Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler meet at the Schuyler’s grand ball in 1777 and pretty much follows their romance from there during the American War of Independence. I love these characters in Hamilton so I can’t wait to see how Melissa De la Cruz portrays them and their love story.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

This is a young adult historical fiction book about a young lord called Monty who goes on a “grand tour” (fancy way of saying road trip) around Europe with his best friend Percy who he is secretly in love with. I am so ready for this book, it combines two of my favourite elements of fiction and that is history and road trips. I know that a lot of people are really looking forward to this and it’s been picked by a bunch of different websites as a summer must read so I can’t wait.

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco 

There seems to be a bit of a pattern with the last couple books and now this one. This is yet another historical fiction book but it’s also got a mystery element as well. It’s about this seventeen-year-old girl Aubrey Rose Wadsworth and she’s kind of part of the aristocracy but she hates that life and, in secret, she studies forensic science and her work leads her to investigate Jack the Ripper. This sounds so cool, like a lot of people I studied Jack the Ripper in school and I really love books set in Victorian London.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera 

I read my first Adam Silvera book at the end of May earlier this year, that was History is All You Left Me and I really liked it. Well, it was bloody heartbreaking but still, it was good. Adam Silvera’s new book sounds really cool, it’s about kind of this alternate reality where one day you get a phone call and you get told that you’re going to die within the next 24 hours and these two guys who both get the call at the same time meet and spend their last day together and, of course, along the way they end up falling in love. This is exactly the kind of painful, soul splitting, heart wrenching, kick-you-in-the-crotch, spit-on-your-neck story that I love. I feel like this book is gonna make me cry, I’m weirdly hoping it does.

Tower of Dawn by Sarah J Maas 

I feel like this one needs some kind of fan-fare or something. Tower of Dawn is the sixth Throne of Glass book coming for us this September. This one is very different from the others as it focuses on Chaol and Nesryn in Antica who are there a) for Chaol’s recovery and b) to convince Antica’s rulers to ally with Aelin. From my understanding, this story is taking place at the same time as the events of Empire of Storms are happening. It’s kind of like a spin off novel but you need to read it to understand what happens in the next book after that. Anyway, I’M SO EXCITED. I LOVE the Throne of Glass series so much, it’s one of the first series I read when I started to really get in to YA, at that point Heir of Fire just came out. I know a lot of people really (like really) don’t like Chaol, I gotta admit, he’s not my favourite but I missed him in Empire of Storms. I’m really looking forward to this one.

 

Leave a Reply

