July Wrap Up

july

I can’t believe it’s the end of July already, summer is moving far too quickly. This was my first full month officially off my book buying ban and I didn’t go too crazy with book buying, in fact I bought six books this month and three of those were from a charity shop. In total I read four books this month, waaaaay better than last month.

The first book I read this month was Heartless by Marissa Meyer. This book was featured on my most anticipated book releases of 2017 earlier this year and I have to say that I was slightly disappointed. I’ve never read a Marissa Meyer book before this so I didn’t really have any idea what to expect in terms of style but to me the plot just felt half-baked (pun slightly intended), the characters felt flat, and the world of Wonderland just didn’t pop for me. It was still a cute read and enjoyable, it didn’t take me long to read this at all.

The next book I read was Replica by Lauren Oliver. I have a review of this that you can read here so I won’t go too far in to anything but HOLY SHIT this book was amazing. I used to love YA science fiction but then I was reading a lot of dystopian and things just felt boring and recycled so I stopped. I had read a couple science fiction books since then, nothing strictly YA, and really loved them. When I read this, I was blown away. One of the best YA science fiction books I’ve read in a long time, possibly ever.

Next, I read The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas. I have been meaning to read this book forever and I finally got to it. This book is a collection of novellas set in the Throne of Glass world before Celaena was imprisoned in Endovier. They don’t really weave with the main series until Queen of Shadows and I didn’t read them before QoS so I was mildly spoiled. You’d think that after that I’d be like “oh the fourth book spoiled some of Assassin’s Blade so there are probably gonna be references in the next book, I should probably read these novellas before that” NOPE. I still didn’t read them before Empire of Storms but I’ve read them now and I’m ready for the next book.

The last book I read this month, maybe my favourite, was The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh. FUCK this book was SO GOOD. This was another one that I had been meaning to read for a while, I’d heard amazing things about it and I knew it was really popular and now I SEE WHY. For me, this had the perfect mix of fantasy, romance, drama, action ugh it was just so good. I love books set around like royal courts and palaces and kingdoms etc and this had all that and more. Highly recommend, can’t wait to read the next one.

I am currently just under halfway through reading Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, I am loving it so far, can’t wait to read more and see where it goes.

On to the books I bought this month. 11th July was Amazon Prime Day which means they have really good discounts on a bunch of different products for Prime members. Of course, I got some books. The first book I got was Voyager by Diana Gabaldon, this is the third book in the Outlander series. The third season of the show starts in September so I want to read this really soon before that however it’s probably gonna take me a while because it is a hella chunky book.

After finding Voyager in the Amazon deals, I went looking for the other Outlander books. They didn’t have the whole series on discount but they did have the fourth book, Drums of Autumn. Obviously, I had to get this one otherwise it just would have been stupid not to, a missed opportunity if you will. After Voyager and depending on how it ends, I probably won’t read this one for a while but we’ll see.

The third book I got this month and the last in the Amazon Prime deal was The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter. I love this book, I love Angela Carter but I have never owned a copy of this book. Now I do, I love these stories, I can’t wait to reread them at some point.

The next three books I bought this month, I kind of regret buying them because I don’t really need them nor do I have the deepest desire to read them. I think I honestly got overwhelmed because they were selling for 30p and it would’ve been wrong not to take advantage of that. The first one I picked up was One Day by David Nicholls. This is hugely popular, almost everyone I know has read it or seen the film. I have done neither however this is probably the one of the three that I don’t regret.

Okay this next one, I don’t necessarily regret but I already own it, I don’t exactly need another copy but anyway, I got Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This edition is a lot nicer than the one I already had, that one is the film tie-in edition which is fine but not that nice looking, this one is much prettier. But I am looking forward to reading this story at some point.

And the last book, this is the one that I look at and think “WHY” like I absolutely did not need and that was The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson. This is the second book in the Millennium trilogy, I had read the first book at university for English Lit and whilst I did enjoy it, I was (I still am) in no rush to read the rest. It’s not even a nice edition that I bought. It’s a fucking ugly edition, I have no self control. I think in this shop I literally just thought “oh there’s a book that I recognise the title of, BUY”.

Buy the books here!

Leave a Reply

